FREE Monthly Star Gazes At
Lucile Miller Observatory in Maiden
The First Friday Of Every Month*
Rain Or Shine!

* Note, Public Observing will be postponed to July 11th if the first Friday is July 4th.


Click Here for Driving Directions to the Lucile Miller Observatory
See special instructions for Internet Map and GPS users

The next scheduled public observing events at Lucile Miller Observatory are:

Friday, December 05, 2014 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, January 02, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, February 06, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, March 06, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, April 03, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, May 01, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, June 05, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, July 03, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, August 07, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, September 04, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, October 02, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -

Friday, November 06, 2015 - FREE Public Observing 7pm to 10 pm -



Wheelchair friendly classroom and observing pad

Restroom and water fountain inside

Climate controlled classroom seats 30

Bob Hunt Amphitheater seats 60

Dome and dome deck can hold 25

Ground level observing pad can hold 40



Some of our scopes on the 30 x 30 foot concrete observing pad

Yes, you can actually use these scopes!

Streetlights? No problem, we have light shades

Bring the whole family!

Rain? No problem, we have lots of indoor activities

Is your telescope broken or you don't know how to use it? Bring it down and we will help you.

Informal indoor presentations at every event, Come and go as you wish!



Lots of parking inside our fence, no need to park on the road

Room for buses too

Bring your scopes! We have plenty of room for you to set them up!

Special Notes

There is no telephone at the observatory

Green laser pointers are permitted to be used by CVAC members and adults only

The Lucile Miller Observatory receives NO funding from the School System. Donations are greatly appreciated!

Lucile Miller Observatory is on Catawba County School System property. ALL tobacco products, alcohol, and firearms are strictly prohibited!